您当前位置:首页 >>海鹿新闻>>  物流资讯物流资讯
改变世界的集装箱航运业
发布时间:2016-06-16 15:18:17 | 浏览次数:


60年前,一只六面体的铁箱子彻底颠覆了世界贸易和运输的传统模式。
1956年的4月26日,一艘改装过的油轮“理想X”号(Ideal X),除了舱内满载的油品以外,甲板上装了58只标准化的集装箱,从美国新泽西州的纽瓦克启程,目的地是得克萨斯州的休斯敦。
把原来分散的各种形状、不同规格的纸箱、木箱、布袋、麻袋等货物装进一个个标准化的铁箱子里,是一位名叫马尔科姆·麦克莱恩(Malcom McLean)的汽车运输富豪独创性的“头脑风暴”。根据麦克莱恩的周密计算,用这种35英尺长的集装箱来运货,每吨货物的平均运费为5.83美元。相比原来的传统运输方式,运输每吨货物的平均成本可以节省16美分。
然而,集装箱运输的国际化进程举步维艰,直到10年之后,1966年,美国海陆班轮公司(Sea-Land Lines)和美国班轮公司(US Lines)开辟了美国至欧洲的第一条班轮航线,迫使欧洲班轮公司跟进。从此,集装箱化才成为真正的国际化产业。
1967年,美森航运公司(Matson)开始首次跨太平洋班轮运输服务。在鹿特丹,首座集装箱码头诞生。
麦克莱恩把尺寸定为35英尺是为了适应当时卡车的尺寸,发展至今,标准尺度是20英尺、40英尺和45英尺。美国是当时世界上仅有的不采用“米”制长度单位的少数几个国家之一,由此,集装箱的标准尺度就一直以“英尺”为单位,且沿用至今。
“国际集装箱化”(Containerisation International)杂志社的前主编理查德·吉布尼当时顺应世界潮流,把“20英尺当量单位”(twenty-foot-equivalent)的缩略语TEU定为集装箱的计量单位。从此以后,没有人再用“载重吨”(dwt)来衡量一艘船的规模,而“TEU”成了衡量集装箱船舶大小的标准单位。
先驱者麦克莱恩持之以恒,几年内以他在1960年创建的海陆服务公司(Sea-Land Service)开拓了一系列新的市场。经过全行业几代人的努力,迄今集装箱航线逐渐延伸到世界的每一个角落。
毫无疑问,集装箱化大大促进了当代世界贸易的增长。很难想象用过去的运输系统来处理杂货怎么可能适应这种需求。事实上,即使不谈货物本身物理上的挑战,一些货物的高额运价就可能使交易不经济了。
集装箱化的最终结果是有效地降低货物运输成本,消除了制造业选址的成本顾虑。在散杂货时代,运费占大部分制成品目的地价格的10%,甚至更多。加上货物内陆运输和处理费用,运输成本还要更高。但多式联运提供门到门运输服务,使这一比例下降到个位数,某些货物的运费甚至降到了更低的比例。因为每天班次固定,船期表的进一步改进方便了零库存(just-on-time)管理体系的运用。由此可以充分发挥产品开发和生产的比较经济优势,使得生产大规模转移到亚洲,尤其中国成为可能。
毋庸讳言,集装箱航运业的大部分先驱者来自美国。但是许多先驱者在这个行业的发育过程中先后“捐躯”了。
令人惊讶的是,今天统治集装箱航运业的竟然是几家欧洲巨头。
位于金字塔尖顶的马士基航运公司虽然是一家入行相对较晚的承运商,但在某种程度上却和集装箱航运业的处女航有联系。
马士基航运登上冠军宝座,同一系列的并购案有关,其中包括海陆和铁行渣华。马士基在1999年收购了当时世界第二大的集装箱班轮公司海陆服务公司,并启用“马士基海陆”(Maersk-SeaLand)的名字,直到2006年收购铁行渣华(Royal P&O Nedlloyd)后,公司名称全部统一称为马士基航运。SeaLand品牌从此被雪藏。
马士基在2014年唤醒“海陆公司”,使它成为旗下的美洲区域内专业的支线贸易承运商。SeaLand雪藏多年终被唤醒,毕竟是幸运的。相比之下,如今还有多少人记得20世纪90年代同样曾经在班轮航运界叱咤风云的德国胜利、英国铁行、荷兰渣华等几头“雄狮”?他们被兼并之后,其品牌渐渐地淡出了人们的记忆,渐渐地灰飞烟灭。
 
 上一篇:马士基航运荣膺年度全球最佳航运公司大奖
 下一篇:中远海运并购东方海外凸显中国雄心

Position:Home >>News>>  Shipping NewsShipping News
The container shipping industry to change the world
Date:2016-06-16 15:18:17 | Visits:


60 years ago, a hexahedral iron box to overturn the traditional model of world trade and transport.
1956 April 26, a converted tanker had "ideal X" number (Ideal X), in addition to tanks full of oil, coat the deck of standardized containers 58 from Newark, New Jersey departure, the destination is Houston, Texas.
The original scattered in various shapes, different sizes of cartons, boxes, bags, sacks and other goods put into a standardized metal box yard, is a man named Malcolm McLean (Malcom McLean) trucking Regal originality of "brainstorming." Based on careful calculation of McLean, this 35 feet-long containers to shipping, freight an average of $ 5.83 per ton of cargo. Compared to the original traditional mode of transport, the average cost per ton of cargo transport can save 16 cents.
However, the process of internationalization of container transport difficult, until 10 years later, in 1966, the United States land and sea shipping companies (Sea-Land Lines) and US shipping companies (US Lines) opened up the United States to Europe, the first liner routes, forcing Europe liner companies follow. Since then, the containerization became truly international industry.
In 1967, Matson Line (Matson) started the first trans-Pacific liner shipping services. In Rotterdam's first container terminal was born.
McLean sized to 35 feet to accommodate the size of the truck at the time of the development so far, the standard dimension of 20 feet, 40 feet and 45 feet. The United States is the world's only then do not use one unit of length of a few countries "m", whereby the container has been the standard scale of "feet" as a unit, and still in use.
Former editor of "Containerisation International" (Containerisation International) magazine, Richard Gibney then follow the global trend, the "20 feet equivalent units" (twenty-foot-equivalent) as acronyms TEU container units of measurement . Since then, no one then "dwt" (dwt) to measure the size of a ship, while "TEU" has become the standard measure of the size of the unit container ships.
Pioneer McLean persevere, to within a few years he founded in 1960, land and sea services company (Sea-Land Service) to develop a series of new markets. After industry-wide efforts of several generations, so far these containers gradually extends to every corner of the world.
Undoubtedly, containerization significantly to the growth of the contemporary world trade. Hard to imagine that with the last transport system to handle grocery how could meet this demand. In fact, even on the physical challenges of the goods themselves aside, the high tariffs of some goods can make transactions uneconomical.
The end result of the container is effectively reduce transportation costs, eliminating the cost of manufacturing siting concerns. In the era of bulk cargo, shipping accounts for 10% of most manufactured goods destination prices even more. Plus the cargo inland transportation and handling charges, transport costs even higher. But intermodal door to door transport services, so that this proportion dropped to single digits, shipping certain goods dropped even lower ratio. Because the fixed day shift, to further improve the convenience of the schedules using zero inventory (just-on-time) Management System. It can give full play to product development and production of comparative economic advantage, making the production of large-scale shift to Asia, especially China possible.
Needless to say, most of the pioneers in the container shipping industry from the United States. But many of the pioneers in the development process in the industry has "died" the.
Surprisingly, today ruled container shipping industry turned out to be several European giants.
The pyramid spire Maersk Line though is a relatively late entry of carriers, but in a way it maiden voyage and container shipping industry are linked.
Maersk triumphed, the same series of mergers and acquisitions, and which include land and sea and Nedlloyd. Maersk acquisition in 1999 was the world's second-largest container shipping company land and sea services company, and enable the "Maersk Sealand" (Maersk-SeaLand) name until 2006 acquisition of P & O Nedlloyd (Royal P & O Nedlloyd), the company name all collectively referred to as Maersk. SeaLand brand has since been frozen.
Maersk wake up "Sea-Land" in 2014, it's become the Region of the Americas regional trade professional carrier. SeaLand frozen for many years was finally wake up, after all, is lucky. By contrast, now how many people remember the 1990s in the liner shipping industry also had an influential German victory, the British Rail line, several Dutch Java Head "lion"? After their merger, the brand gradually fade out of people's memories, gradually vanished.
 
 Prev:Maersk Line won the annual World's Best Awards
 Next:
友情链接: 热门新闻事件 宣城新闻 七方八面来风网 通辽市信息港 葡京十三水 葡京二十一点 葡京21点 葡京手机投注 葡京投注 葡京下注 葡京网投 网上葡京 线上葡京 葡京充值 葡京快速充值 葡京快速充值中心 葡京视讯直播 葡京视频直播 葡京体育 葡京正网 葡京AG 葡京BBIN 葡京贵宾厅 葡京VIP厅 葡京捕鱼达人 葡京优惠活动 葡京在线客服 葡京真人视讯 葡京免费开户 葡京免费注册 葡京如何存款 葡京如何取款 葡京MG 葡京糖果派对 葡京连环夺宝 葡京斗鸡游戏 葡京幸运转盘 葡京轮盘 葡京老虎机 葡京游戏大厅 葡京AG电子 葡京MG电子 葡京PT电子 葡京皇冠体育 葡京沙巴体育 葡京电竞 葡京欢乐棋牌 葡京乐游棋牌 葡京开元棋牌 葡京真人娱乐 葡京捕鱼游戏 葡京网络游戏 葡京水果拉霸 葡京古怪猴子